Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Off-Topic Ordeals » YALT

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
YALT
Derezo
Member #1,666
April 2001

Yet Another Linux Thread

Last January-ish I switched to Kubuntu again and loved it. Switching to Linux is something I seem to do about once a year, then switch back :'(
I find I'm far more productive in Linux because it keeps my hands on the keyboard where they belong >:( I've also replaced my Microscotch ComfortCurve 2000, which I've been using for 10 years, with a Das Keyboard 4 Ultimate.

Today I am about to install a 512GB ADATA SSD in my laptop, and so I plan on dual booting and installing Linux once more. Hopefully using it as my primary OS for much longer.

I'm looking to try some KDE-based distros. The four I've narrowed it down to are Linux Mint, Manjaro, Mageia and Kubuntu. I'm leaning towards Mint, but am open to other suggestions, warnings, errors and notices.

I use my desktop primarily for web development, maybe a little Java dev again, and maybe even a little A5 dev if I can figure out the android port this time. I have an old Intel i5 laptop (Lenovo Thinkpad) with dual screens (17" 4:3 and 22" 16:10). Last time I did have some minor wireless driver issues, but hopefully those are gone or ... something.

Anyone have some recommendations or advice, articles to check out, or software to include? Anyone subscribe to some Linux or KDE related resources I should check out? I'll have to relearn a lot of stuff, but I don't think it will take long for me to be up and running.

"He who controls the stuffing controls the Universe"

Chris Katko
Member #1,881
January 2002

I personally prefer Xubuntu. Is there a specific functionality of KDE you need?

-----sig:
“Programs should be written for people to read, and only incidentally for machines to execute.” - Structure and Interpretation of Computer Programs
"Political Correctness is fascism disguised as manners" --George Carlin

Derezo