Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Where can I find good tutorials to learn Allegro 5?

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Where can I find good tutorials to learn Allegro 5?
iheartcoffee
Member #16,518
August 2016

Hello,
I'm very new to game design and I'm interested in using Allegro 5. I was wondering if there are and good tutorials I can follow or books I can read up on, on how to use Allegro 5. I purchased Game Programming All in One (Third Edition) by Jonathan S. Harbour. Unfortunately the book uses Allegro 4.2 which I can't even get to compile on modern Windows with MSYS2 and Mingw-W64. There is another book written about game design using Allegro 5 but unfortunately the book is in French and I don't understand French. I looked to see if the book had any translations but I couldn't find any. I know how to program in C so hence the interest in Allegro. I've been browsing through the wiki but most of the tutorials are quite sparse and basic and the Allegro 5 documentation is not very user friendly. It just lists out all the functions that Allegro 5 has but it doesn't go in to much detail on use etc. Does anyone have any suggestions on where I can get more reading material on Allegro 5? I'm very much interested in this library but I'm at a loss at where I should begin.
Thanks in advance,
Sean

Edgar Reynaldo
Major Reynaldo
May 2007

Hello,