Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Allegro Development » TTF Loading Failing

Credits go to Edgar Reynaldo for helping out!
This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
TTF Loading Failing
mumu1000
Member #16,842
April 2018

Hello Everybody !
I'm new to Allegro Programming (and programming in general :P ) and i get an error i don't even know the meaning of :(

I Just want to make a "Hello World" test program, everything works fine, until i try to load a ttf font (it worked with the builtin font).

#SelectExpand
1 2#include <iostream> 3#include <string> 4#include "allegro.h" 5#include "allegro_color.h" 6#include "allegro_font.h" 7#include "allegro_ttf.h" 8 9int main(int argc, char **argv) 10{ 11 bool allegroIsWorking = al_init(); 12 bool alfontIsWorking = al_init_font_addon(); 13 bool alTTFIsWorking = al_init_ttf_addon(); 14 if(allegroIsWorking && alfontIsWorking && alTTFIsWorking) 15 { 16 cout << "It Works\n"; 17 } 18 ALLEGRO_DISPLAY * Ecran = al_create_display(1000,500); 19 ALLEGRO_FONT * font = al_load_ttf_font("Roboto-Bold.ttf",70,0); 20 al_clear_to_color(al_map_rgb(0,0,0)); 21 al_draw_text(font,al_map_rgb(255,255,255), 2,2,0,"Hello world"); 22 al_flip_display(); 23 24 25 return 0; 26}

There are no compilation errors.
The TTF file "Roboto-Bold.ttf" is in the program folder.
When i use "al_create_builtin_font" instead of "al_load_ttf_font" it works perfectly.
At runtime, the debug console displays "It Works" and creates the display before crashing.
The crash message displayed in the console is:

Assertion failed!

Program: C:\Users\PathToMyProgam\program.exe
File: C:/dev/allegro_winpkg/universal/allegro/addons/font/text.c, Line 79

Expression: font

Please, can someone tell me what messes everything up ? :'( :'( :'(
2 hours i've been trying to solve this without success :-X

Thank you very much !!!

Edit: