Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » [A5] Event and socket messages ?

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
[A5] Event and socket messages ?
dt65536
Member #15,540
March 2014

Hi everybody,

I am beginning a new (game) project, and I'm using both Allegro and network communication for the first time. The documentation of Allegro is easy and complete so I have a good time using it, but I still have just notions of how a network works (I am still learning about what sockets are exactly).

I am now at the point where I need the game client to retrieve data such as position of players sent from a server.
So, as in my main loop I am waiting for an event, using :
al_wait_for_event(ALLEGRO_EVENT_QUEUE, ALLEGRO_EVENT*);
and as this function "freezes" the program, I can't call such things as 'recv' or 'recvfrom' to process the data I should receive,
I imagined I could create an user event which would be emitted whenever data was retrieved.

Sadly, I couldn't find a similar question or an example about events and network, so I am referring to your wisdom.

My questions are :
- Is it the "proper way" to handle data communication over a network ?
- if not, what method should I use ?
- if yes, how do I have to "emit" my event ? (do I have to use multithreading (which I have never used either) ? Is there a way to "overload" the al_wait_for_event function ?)

I apologize if the terms I used aren't exact (I hope it's still understandable).

Thanks in advance for your answers.

edit : I omitted to mention I wish to use only C language (so no objects).

Thomas Fjellstrom
Member #476
June 2000

If you don't feel comfortable making your networking code feed an allegro event queue, you can use al_wait_for_event_timed or al_get_next_event, and handle your own waiting.

--
Thomas Fjellstrom - [website] - [email] - [Allegro Wiki] - [Allegro TODO]