Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Which is a faster way to render tiles?

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Which is a faster way to render tiles?
pyromaggot
Member #15,116
May 2013

Hey guys. Nice to make your acquaintance. I'm quite new to allegro so please bear with my lack of knowledge.

I'm currently developing a tiling engine for my game and have come across two potential ways of rendering the tiles to the screen.

One is that in every frame, I calculate which sub rectangle of the tilemap intersect with the camera, and call many al_draw_bitmap_region per frame to render the tiles from my tilesheet bitmap to the screen.

The other one is that as soon as I have a tilemap loaded, I pre-render my entire tilemap onto a large bitmap (by calling many al_draw_bitmap_region), and every frame I simply render (al_draw_bitmap) that large bitmap to the screen. I got this method from reading the source of Flixel, and thought it is a rather smart way of doing this. But knowing that flash/AS is inherently different from allegro + C/C++, I'm dubious of whether or not this is a good idea in our case.

I'm not sure which one would be more efficient and I don't actually know how to test it :S. So here I am hoping that you guys could give me some tips.

Thanks in advance for any replies!

PM

l j
Member #10,584
January 2009

You should not draw the entire tilemap on one large bitmap.
Allegro uses textures to store the bitmaps and the max size of a texture is limited. As far as I know allegro will not try to make a bitmap out of multiple textures but instead allocate a memory bitmap, which is slow.

I'm fairly sure it's a better idea to use al_draw_bitmap_region.
al_create_sub_bitmap Is an alternative.

If you're drawing the same bitmap many times, al_hold_bitmap_drawing ought to give you a performance boost.

edit: this post belongs in programming questions.

Todd Cope
Member #998
November 2000