Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Question regarding multithreading

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Question regarding multithreading
ryancoboy
Member #14,468
July 2012

I have never worked with multi-threading before (started learning about it a few days ago). it looked interesting and like a powerful tool, so i started messing around with it. Making a few test programs here and there.

In my latest test I have hit a roadblock that I can't seem to get myself around.

I have located the problem, but i am unaware as to why it is giving me a run-time-error. here is the code for the thread that is running and causing the error (note: this function works if not using it in a thread):

#SelectExpand
1void *Load(ALLEGRO_THREAD *thr, void *arg) 2{ 3 std::cout << "Load thread: Started." << std::endl; 4 5 ThreadInfo *Info = (ThreadInfo*) arg; 6 7 al_get_bitmap_format(al_get_backbuffer(al_get_current_display())); 8 //LoadMap(); 9 10 al_lock_mutex(Info->mutex); 11 Info->State->CurState = Playing; 12 al_unlock_mutex(Info->mutex); 13 14 std::cout << "Load thread: Ended." << std::endl; 15 16 return NULL; 17}

The line that it gives the error on is:

I'm guessing it is because the call to al_get_bitmap(...) is not thread safe. But I'm still new to this multi-threading stuff. So if someone could confirm or deny, that be great. And any ideas on how to make this work using threads would also be appreciated.

Thanks in advanced,
-Ryan

-Ryan
----------------------------------------------------
If I'm asking, it's because I failed for over 2 hours trying to find the answer on Google / trying to fix it myself.

Todd Cope
Member #998
November 2000

The first thing you should do is check the return value of each function before passing it to the next.

ALLEGRO_DISPLAY * display;
ALLEGRO_BITMAP * bitmap;
int format;

display = al_get_current_display();
if(display)
{
    bitmap = al_get_backbuffer(display);