Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Multithreading and events

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Multithreading and events
Gnamra
Member #12,503
January 2011

I'm really new to multithreading, I've looked at the tutorial in the wiki. And I've got a few questions.

1. a mutex is used so only one thread can read / write on whatever is between

al_lock_mutex(mutex)

stuff

al_unlock_mutex(mutex)

And it's only used when reading / writing shared resources like the data class in the example, right?

2. What I want to do is have a thread which handles all input, but I can't get it to work. I tried adding an ALLEGRO_EVENT ev, to the data class. and copy the ALLEGRO_EVENT in the main loop to the ALLEGRO_EVENT in the data class. like this:

al_wait_for_event(event_queue, &ev);

al_lock_mutex(data.mutex);
data.ev = ev;
al_unlock_mutex(data.mutex);

Is there anything wrong with this?

3. In the input_thread function I've got:

while(!al_get_thread_should_stop(thr)){
  al_lock_mutex(data->mutex);
        blah blah 
        al_unlock_mutex(data->mutex);
}

When the mutex is locked in the main loop, and I'm copying the ev to the data.ev, is the thread waiting for the mutex to be unlocked in the main before continuing with "blah blah".

J-Gamer
Member #12,491
January 2011

1. You can use mutexes to tell other threads to not touch the data protected by the mutex.

2. If you want to send events to another thread, the other thread should have an event queue listening to that kind of events.

3. If you want to lock a mutex that is already locked, the thread will wait until it's unlocked.

EDIT: here's a good read on multithreading: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/magazine/cc163744.aspx (I know it uses .NET, but the same principles apply in every multithreaded environment)

" There are plenty of wonderful ideas in The Bible, but God isn't one of them." - Derezo