Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Mouse & Keyboard event interference

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Mouse & Keyboard event interference
Asiron
Member #14,076
February 2012

Hello there,

I am a beginner in Allegro5 development, also in Game development.
My starting project is a simple SpaceInvaders themed game. I decided to let user control spaceship with either a keyboard or a mouse. The thing is that if I don't touch my mouse, keyboard control is working flawlessly. Same goes for mouse control, I chose to move my ship with left mouse button and fire gun with clicking right mouse button. Now here is where it still works, but if I choose to steer ship with left mouse button and fire gun with a space button on my keyboard, it starts to jump around. Even better any keystroke while moving my spaceship causes my ship to jump around to different positions, like if the stroke were processed by mouse and converted to x , y mouse positions. Don't know if that logic makes any sense from a programming point of view, but it kinda looks like it.

Here is my code:

#SelectExpand