Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Installation, Setup & Configuration » Distributing Allegro 5 games

Credits go to AMCerasoli, Edgar Reynaldo, Matthew Leverton, and torhu for helping out!
This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
 1   2 
Distributing Allegro 5 games
djchallis
Member #13,637
October 2011

My apologies in advance if this is an obvious/stupid question or if I've posted this on the wrong board. I'm an Allegro newbie, but I've done some Googling and forum-searching for a while and still can't come up with the answer so I thought I'd ask direct.

I'm currently making a game in Allegro 5 using Visual Studio 2010. I'd like to distribute an early version to a friend so he can test it, but it won't let him run the .exe file. I can run the .exe file on my own laptop as long as allegro-5.0.4-monolith-md.dll is in the same folder. On his computer it complains that it wants msvcr100.dll.

It appears to me that I'm dynamically linking to dlls and those will need to be distributed with the .exe when I distribute my game. From my research I've found that if I statically linked I could just send the .exe file with my resource folder (for images/fonts/sounds etc.) and that would work without any external dlls. Apart from not knowing whether what I've said this far is accurate or not, my problem is that I can't find anywhere that explains to me how to change from dynamic linking to static linking in Visual Studio 2010. There's lots telling me how to set up static linking on Code::Blocks, but I was originally advised to use VS2010 because I updating my game would be easier with that, but I now wonder whether static linking would remove that advantage anyway... I'm rather confused.

Put simply, my question is: what's the simplest, most professional way to distribute my game?
Should I use an installer for the finished game? (I've no idea how I'd do that)