Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » slow, rrreeallly slow fps

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
 1   2 
slow, rrreeallly slow fps
red-dragon
Member #7,722
August 2006

Yeah, sorry for hijacking the forum once again. But I'm reaching the end of my term, hence different threads for different topics.

I'm a total noob at the frames per second topic. In fact, I have looked at old threads here and followed a tutorial in implementing a timer and all. Thing is, I'm getting a rate of 7-8 frames per second when I move my character. I'm displaying a simple background with scrolling, one enemy moving on its own, and my character through keyboard input.

I'm using my laptop, for which the screen resolution is set at 1920x1200.

I followed this example code in implementing my timer: http://pixwiki.bafsoft.com/mags/12/articles/pong/article.html

I'm gonna show part of my code, maybe I'm doing something obviously wrong?

1 while(!key[KEY_ESC])
2 {
4 while(game_time > 0)
5 {
6 MapDrawBG(buffer, mapxoff, mapyoff, 0,
7 0,WIDTH,HEIGHT);
9 textprintf(buffer, font, 0, 10, WHITE, "FPS: %d",
10 fps);
12 int key;
13 if (keypressed())
14 key = getinput();
16 if(i==4)
17 {
18 i=0;
19 enemy_dir();
20 }
23 if(key == 0)
24 {
25 updatesprite(link);
26 move_character();
27 game_time--;
28 draw_link();
29 cfps++;
30 }
32 else if((key == 1) && (a != 0))
33 {
34 a--;
35 updateattacksprite(link);
36 attack();
37 draw_link();
38 game_time--;
39 cfps++;
40 }
43 if(a==0)
44 a = 10;
46 checkcollisions();
47 update_enemy_sprite(green_plant);
48 checkcollisions();
50 move_plant_enemy();
51 link->dir = 0;
53 draw_enemy();
55 //vsync();
56 acquire_screen();
57 blit(buffer, screen, 0, 0, 0, 0, WIDTH, HEIGHT);
58 release_screen();
60 rest(70);
63 } //end of timer while
65 while(game_time<0) ;
67}