Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Off-Topic Ordeals » Shank Graphics

Credits go to 23yrold3yrold, AMCerasoli, Dario ff, Erin Maus, Felix-The-Ghost, GameCreator, Johan Halmén, LennyLen, MiquelFire, Peter Wang, Specter Phoenix, Tobias Dammers, Trezker, and weapon_S for helping out!
This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
 1   2 
Shank Graphics
GameCreator
Member #2,541
July 2002

Paul whoknows
Member #5,081
September 2004

So it seems Rayman Origins has been done using textures too! I think I'm focusing too much in tech field and underestimating the importance of professional artwork :( I guess that's ok, I'm just a programmer after all :P

____

"The unlimited potential has been replaced by the concrete reality of what I programmed today." - Jordan Mechner.

SiegeLord
Member #7,827
October 2006

underestimating the importance of professional artwork

Are you saying that it takes no skill to create good looking vector images?

Anyway, it's waste to not use pre-rendered vector graphics unless you plan to do deformations and/or massive scaling.

"For in much wisdom is much grief: and he that increases knowledge increases sorrow."-Ecclesiastes 1:18
[SiegeLord's Abode][Codes]:[DAllegro5]:[RustAllegro]

Paul whoknows
Member #5,081
September 2004

No. I'm saying those game look so great that I thought they were made using real-time vector graphics techniques, but I was wrong, those games look great mostly because of the artwork of professional artists and designers.

____

"The unlimited potential has been replaced by the concrete reality of what I programmed today." - Jordan Mechner.

Matthew Leverton
Supreme Loser
January 1999

A picture is worth a thousand lines of code. :-[

Specter Phoenix
Member #1,425
July 2001

Does one take more memory than the other? I can't find anything about that. Was just curious about the pros and cons of Vector graphics to bitmap graphics.

LennyLen
Member #5,313
December 2004