Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Off-Topic Ordeals » [Fedora 7 Linux] Can't connect to the Internet (DSL connection)

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
 1   2   3 
[Fedora 7 Linux] Can't connect to the Internet (DSL connection)
bamccaig
Member #7,536
July 2006

I'm having trouble connecting to the Internet from my new installation of Fedora 7 (without the Internet, every time I boot into it I feel like I'm diving alone into murky water).

The error that displays says something about /dev/null and points to a line in a script that is commented "TIMED OUT"... ::) I'm thinking perhaps a driver is missing or device isn't recognized? I'm not very experienced with Linux (or hardware) though so I'm basically just lost.

I created an xDSL connection, filled in the login information, and added DNS addresses which I ipconfig'd out of Windows (as prior experience has taught me to do). It's still not working, however. :'( Anybody have any advice/suggestions/solutions? :-/

Anybody else having problems with Fedora 7?

** EDIT **

Removed rant about screen resolution. Apparently I just forgot how to fix it. :):-[

Simon Parzer
Member #3,330
March 2003

Quote:

The error that displays says something about /dev/null and points to a line in a script that is commented "TIMED OUT"... ::)

That's nice. Now we can guess which error it was.

Quote:

I created an xDSL connection, filled in the login information, and added DNS addresses which I ipconfig'd out of Windows (as prior experience has taught me to do). It's still not working, however. :'( Anybody have any advice/suggestions/solutions? :-/

Don't use GUI tools for Linux administration.

Quote:

How frustrating Fedora 7 is being... You'd think for a new release it would handle things BETTER, but so far in my experience it's degraded since Fedora Core 6... ::)

I know many Linux users, but not a single happy Fedora user.

ReyBrujo
January 2001