Allegro.cc Forums » Game Design & Concepts » how to make my character 3D

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
 1   2 
how to make my character 3D
William Labbett
Member #4,486
March 2004

hi,

I've attached a screenshot of my WIP game. The way the game area is drawn as you will see is an attempt to have a bit of 3D-ness using just sprites. I want to change things so that the camera is above the play area and sides of the blocks are drawn properly in perspective. Also the sides of all the edge walls will be visible as oppose to just the wall at the top. I think I can do this without much trouble but then I'll need to draw the little man in perspective too otherwise he just won't look convincing. So what I'm wondering is - how dificult will this be. I've never used models before but I'd like to have a go. I'd like to know what the simplest way of approaching this is ?

Any suggestions ?

Will

http://allegro.cc/files/attachment/591208

gnolam
Member #2,030
March 2002

BMP is not a web-appropriate format, dammit! >:(

Quote:

I want to change things so that the camera is above the play area and sides of the blocks are drawn properly in perspective. Also the sides of all the edge walls will be visible as oppose to just the wall at the top.

Explain.

--
Move to the Democratic People's Republic of Vivendi Universal (formerly known as Sweden) - officially democracy- and privacy-free since 2008-06-18!

William Labbett
Member #4,486
March 2004

It's not all that easy to explain but I'll try. At the moment the top of blocks are drawn and a little bit of the side facing 'southward' of each block is drawn if it's visible. If the viewpoint was moved to above the game area in the middle the blocks would need to be drawn differently - say a block was in the top-right corner - some of the righthand side would be visible and some of the southern side too.