Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Pong game

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Pong game
iheartcoffee
Member #16,518
August 2016

Hi,
I'm interested in developing a small pong game as a hobby project. I have some experience in programming (1st year Comp Sci). However, I currently only know Python 3. I was thinking of learning C or C++ but I'm not sure which would be best suited for use with Allegro. Looking for advice :)

pmprog
Member #11,579
January 2010

Have you done object-orientated programming in Python? If no, try C; if yes, try C++

Allegro is written in C, and can be used in the same way in both C and C++... The only difference would be your code interacting with Allegro.

Also, according to the bindings page Allegro already comes with a Python binding. So you could continue to use Python if you wanted

Edgar Reynaldo
Major Reynaldo
May 2007

pmprog said:

Have you done object-orientated programming in Python? If no, try C; if yes, try C++

^^^

C++ and Java and C# are similar. C is included (mostly) in C++, if you want to be --pedantic about it.

The first three emphasize OOP. C does whatever you want if you know what you're doing. It's all implemented the same under the hood anyway.

But aside from that, I'd say work with Python for a while. If the Python Allegro binding doesn't work out, there's also PyGame, which I've heard mixed things about.

amarillion
Member #940
January 2001

Honestly, it doesn't matter that much.

Both C and C++ will work. But they will teach you different programming styles.

If you really want to learn some new skills, do both. First do it in C, then in C++. As you learn more languages, you'll learn that some parts of programming are universal, but you'll also learn the differences in emphasis between the different languages.

bamccaig
Member #7,536
July 2006