Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Off-Topic Ordeals » GIMP issues

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
GIMP issues
DanielH
Member #934
January 2001

My current pixel/paint editor has been quarantined by my virus protector software. I've been using the same one for 15+ years and thought I'd try Gimp.

Why is Gimp so difficult to use? How do you draw a simple pixel? Look up some tutorials and most are for older version which some features are not in the current Gimp.

Where is the pencil tool that the tutorials are talking about? It's not there. There is a brush tool. I can set it to 1 pixel size, but it won't draw a pixel. It sort of blends the current pixel with the chosen color. I have no idea how to fix it.

:)

Edgar Reynaldo
Major Reynaldo
May 2007

Chris Katko
Member #1,881
January 2002

GIMP is a PITA written by idiots on par with VLC.

But it's nifty in certain scenarios when you get used to the stupidty.

Photoshop has a lot of stupidity too.

If you like Allegro, you can support ASEsprite:

https://www.aseprite.org/

But it's more adapted for pixel art than general image work.

When it comes to image work, video work, damn near anything, I've never met a tool that wasn't full of counter-intuitive stupidity. Kdenlive had some nice video editing workflow--too bad it's a bug-ridden piece of trash that can't make a video without corrupting the save file.

MSPaint is actually good until you need features it doesn't have. It also has a bug that's over 10-15 years old that Microsoft has never fixed. (Try to adjust the canvas size while zoomed in. It'll eat more or less than you specify due to a math error.) Microsoft is such hilarious crap.

-----sig:
β€œPrograms should be written for people to read, and only incidentally for machines to execute.” - Structure and Interpretation of Computer Programs
"Political Correctness is fascism disguised as manners" --George Carlin

Kevin Adrian
Member #7,087
April 2006