Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Installation, Setup & Configuration » How to compile an Allegro 5 program?

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
How to compile an Allegro 5 program?
David Pavezka
Member #17,392
January 2020

Hi, I'm very very sorry, but I'm a novice in Allegro (and C programming in general), and I haven't found a good answer to my problem online, so I'll ask here, at a risk of coming off as a giant noob (that I probably am :-/ ):
After following the quickstart guide here, I've encountered an unexpected problem of not being able to compile hello.c using MinGW. The command supplied:

gcc hello.c -o hello.exe $(pkg-config allegro-5 allegro_font-5 --libs --cflags)

does not work, and I'm not sure how to link the libraries using -l commands. I'm almost certain that I've configured the library correctly (following the guide).
I'd simply like to know how to successfully compile the code using cmd and MinGW. I've seen somthings about CMake, but I have absolutely no idea how to use it, and if possible, avoid it (at least until I'll understand what it does).

The command above produces:

gcc: error: $(pkg-config: No such file or directory
gcc: error: allegro-5: No such file or directory
gcc: error: allegro_font-5: No such file or directory
gcc: error: unrecognized command line option '--libs'
gcc: error: unrecognized command line option '--cflags)'

The command above, but without the dollar sign and stuff in parenthesis (gcc hello.c -o hello.exe) produces:

c:/mingw/bin/../lib/gcc/mingw32/8.2.0/../../../../mingw32/bin/ld.exe: C:\Users\DAWIDP~1\AppData\Local\Temp\cceUBMFy.o:hello.c:(.text+0x21): undefined reference to `al_install_system'
c:/mingw/bin/../lib/gcc/mingw32/8.2.0/../../../../mingw32/bin/ld.exe: C:\Users\DAWIDP~1\AppData\Local\Temp\cceUBMFy.o:hello.c:(.text+0x26): undefined reference to `al_install_keyboard'