Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » OpenGL ES questions

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
OpenGL ES questions
Eric Johnson
Member #14,841
January 2013

I'm just a newbie trying to figure out OpenGL ES 2.0 (for use in WebGL), and I'm hoping you guys could help answer a few of my questions (all shader precision related right now):

1. I've read that all vertex shaders default to high precision, and as such, manually stating the precision is not necessary. Is this true?

2. As for fragment shaders, I've read that high precision is not supported by all devices (particularly mobile devices), and that medium precision should be used instead. Is this true, and if so, is it much of an issue? Even the iPhone 5 supports high precision, and it was released in 2012!

3. I know I can query to see if high precision is supported and use it if so, but realistically, what kind of differences could I expect to see between high, medium, and low? As is, I don't see a difference between them (at least on desktop and on a Samsung Galaxy S7), though I'm just rendering basic triangles right now.

4. Any pointers on what precision I should be using for my vertex and fragment shaders?

Thanks for reading. Any input would be most appreciated. :)

Edgar Reynaldo
Major Reynaldo
May 2007

Eric Johnson
Member #14,841
January 2013

Do you have a working example you could zip up for people to try?

Not at this time. I'm currently just working in a single file, adding and removing functionality as I learn more and play around. I'm drawing textured quads now while experimenting with doing some basic "effects", like color tinting and trying to adjust contrast/exposure of an image (just for fun).