Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Off-Topic Ordeals » International Trip Tips

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
International Trip Tips
Onewing
Member #6,152
August 2005

Hey all, I'm planning on taking a trip to Japan in July/August for about 2 weeks. Yay!

I've never done a trip of this caliber before. I left the country once, but I wouldn't say that really counts. Any suggestions/tips/thoughts? What about budget-saving ideas?

------------
Solo-Games.org | My Tech Blog: The Digital Helm

Eric Johnson
Member #14,841
January 2013

I've never been outside the country, but I'd avoid people with tattoos (unless you want to join the Yakuza ;))!

LennyLen
Member #5,313
December 2004

Make a laminated copy of your passport and carry that with you instead of your actual passport is about all I can think of.

bamccaig
Member #7,536
July 2006

LennyLen said:

Make a laminated copy of your passport and carry that with you instead of your actual passport is about all I can think of.

I never would have thought to do that. Can you elaborate? Is it to make a fake target for theft? Or is that actually going to be accepted as identification? :o

Mark Oates
Member #1,146
March 2001

Have fun! :)

Other than that, have a backup person to contact, be extra careful to keep your passport from being stolen, and you should be OK.

--
Visit CLUBCATT.com for cat shirts, cat mugs, puzzles, art and more <-- coupon code ALLEGRO4LIFE at checkout and get $3 off any order of 3 or more items!

AllegroFlareAllegroFlare DocsAllegroFlare GitHub

LennyLen
Member #5,313
December 2004

bamccaig said:

Or is that actually going to be accepted as identification?

It won't be accepted as official ID by government agencies etc. but usually will by car hire outlets and other businesses, and will reduce the risk of losing your passport (most hotels will offer a safe or other secure storage where you can leave your important documents).

Onewing
Member #6,152