Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Curious error message

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Curious error message
Andre Xavier
Member #16,694
June 2017

Hellows peeps!

Im studying strings and I stumbled on a lot of functions to read and write and have been trying to make just enough code to read an input and print it to the screen. Nothing big, yes, but Im curious about this error message and what it means.

char *commandLine;
int commandLineRead;
int commandLineSize = COMMANDLINE_SIZE;

commandLine = (char *) malloc(COMMANDLINE_SIZE);

printf("Enter command: ");
getline(&commandLine, &commandLineSize, stdin);
printf("Seu comando: %s", commandLine);

free(commandLine);

Where COMMANDLINE_SIZE = 21.

Then the mean compiler complains saying this:

C:\Users\Xavier\Documents\Programming Projects\Inferno Verde\main.c|81|warning: pointer targets in passing argument 2 of 'getline' differ in signedness [-Wpointer-sign]|

c:\mingw\include\stdio.h|614|note: expected 'size_t * restrict {aka unsigned int * restrict}' but argument is of type 'int *'|

What is this signedness thing?

And could someone point me out some good place on the net to study C more deeply? That would surely help! Ive been seeing some sites around but I noticed that most dont develop the subject really deep enough, like passing multisized matrix as references or as pointers. Some, on the other hand, can be really confusing...

Thanks in advance!

Xavier

=^.^=

Edgar Reynaldo
Major Reynaldo
May 2007

Read the man page : https://linux.die.net/man/3/getline

It says the second parameter is a size_t *n. That means you need to pass a pointer to an unsigned int to it, because that's what a size_t is. That's why it's complaining about an int* because it's signed.

EDIT

passing multisized matrix as references or as pointers