Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Allegro 4 doesn't load bitmaps and program crashes!

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
 1   2 
Allegro 4 doesn't load bitmaps and program crashes!
coderthatcancode
Member #16,679
May 2017

Hey guys, I'm new with the allegro community and I know C programming.

I've recently started doing allegro Code::blocks development, and that's been a real drag lately. I cant seem to load a bitmap image (mario8.bmp), and yes I'am totally aware of the allegro 5 library, but I prefer to use allegro 4 for now, and its much easier. Here down below I will provide the code that I used from a tutorial ( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ceOTjZOD6wo&t=1s ) I'm running on a 32 bit machine with windows vista, it appears in this tutorial he uses something older. Anyway, I'm not sure what's going on, and just to answer any sample questions, yes the image is named correctly, the file is in the folder, the image is where the .exe file is. Every time I run the program it goes to the 8-bit color scheme on windows vista then crashes and says "Allegro Game.exe has stopped working", then returns to its normal color scheme. Please help me, I don't know how to solve this or what to do.

Kind regards coderthatcancode

The code that I have used:

#include <allegro.h>

int main()
{
allegro_init();
install_keyboard();

set_color_depth(8); // 8, 15, 16, 32
set_gfx_mode(GFX_AUTODETECT_WINDOWED, 640, 480, 0, 0);

BITMAP *bmp = create_bitmap(640, 480);
clear_bitmap(bmp);

BITMAP *character = load_bitmap("mario8.bmp", NULL);

while(!key[KEY_ESC])
{
blit(character, bmp, 0, 0, 0, 0, character->w, character->h);
blit(bmp, screen, 0, 0, 0, 0, bmp->w, bmp->h);
}

destroy_bitmap(bmp);
destroy_bitmap(character);

return 0;
}
END_OF_MAIN()

LennyLen
Member #5,313
December 2004

Try changing the colour depth like this and see if it makes a difference:

set_color_depth(desktop_color_depth());

EDIT: