Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Installation, Setup & Configuration » Porting a game to Android

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Porting a game to Android
Ian Lewis
Member #15,817
December 2014

Hello,

I've made a game using Allegro 5 (it's here if anyone's interested https://github.com/IanLewis42/GravStorm )

I originally wrote it on/for Raspberry Pi, then did a Windows port. I'd now like to do an Android port.

I've never built anything for Android before, so I have a few 'before you start' type questions.

Most of the allegro-on-android docs suggest using Linux. I'm not terribly familiar with Linux, and don't have a linux box available (other than the Raspberry Pi).

Q1: Is it possible to develop an Allegro 5 android app under Windows? Has anyone actually done it? Any advice / suggestions / tutorials?

Q2: Alternatively, could I use a 'live' distribution of linux (i.e. boot from CD/DVD/USB)? Again, has anyone done this, and if so, what distribution would you recommend?

Q3: Final (least favoured) alternative, is it feasible to do this on Raspberry Pi? It's running Raspbian, based on Debian, but as an original RPi model B, it's a bit underpowered and I can't imagine that installing the toolchain on it is going to be straightforward. Again, has anyone done this?

Q4: (general) Any tips / gotchas for first-time android building?

Cheers,

Ian.

Elias
Member #358
May 2000

Q1: I have no idea, but see Q4.

Q2: Yes, but expect about 10GB worth of android stuff (SDK + NDK) to install into that Linux. Also, you will need at least 8GB of ram to run the android compiler or it will just throw an OutOfMemory exception.

Q3: No, it won't have enough ram (and it would take you 10 hours to compile a simple game).