Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Guys this is a really important question

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
 1   2 
Guys this is a really important question
Polybios
Member #12,293
October 2010

pasta/

dada__
Member #16,089
September 2015

I use this:

src/ - all .c and .h files, object files are placed here too
resources/ - source files for my sprites/etc
static/ - all static files copied over when making a dist (DAT files are generated automatically from the resources and placed here during a build)
vendor/ - vendor code, including Allegro
dist/ - builds and dist zip files

I'm new to C, so I've never thought about project structure too much. It's just that I like simplicity. But I should probably at least put the .o files somewhere else.

Mark Oates
Member #1,146
March 2001

I like your choice for resources/.

Currently my resources go in bin/data/, but I might change that over to bin/resources/.

--
Visit CLUBCATT.com for cat shirts, cat mugs, puzzles, art and more <-- coupon code ALLEGRO4LIFE at checkout and get $3 off any order of 3 or more items!

AllegroFlareAllegroFlare DocsAllegroFlare GitHub

bamccaig
Member #7,536
July 2006

As a convention, bin/ isn't for all non-textual files. It's for executable, often-though-not-necessarily binary, code. It would make better sense to have a separate directory for that. On a Linux file system you'd expect to install those kinds of things in /usr/lib/$program/. Locally it probably makes sense in a directory next to bin. Resources is a good description, but it's also very verbose. I like media/ for audio/visual data. Another good envelop is just data/.

Mark Oates
Member #1,146
March 2001

For me, it might end up being something like this:

bin/
  data/
    bitmaps/
    config/
    documents/
    fonts/
    languages/
    layouts/
    models/
    samples/
    scripts/