Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Installation, Setup & Configuration » Back for more...

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Back for more...
Number Six
Member #3,912
October 2003

Well i've been gone for about 10 years but here I am again :)

Really happy to see the Allegro.cc is still here, and frankly stunned I remembered my username and password.

So i've not used Allegro in all this time and things have changed quite alot.
I used to compile in a terminal using gcc on Windows, Linux and Mac.

I've compiled and installed Allegro successfully on my Mac (I think!) but I'm damned if I can remember how to even compile/link my program with gcc and from a look of things that process is not quite the same as I vaguely remember it anymore.

Can anyone point me in the right direction? (God I'm a noob again...:P)

---------------------------------------
By Hook or by Crook.... We WILL!

Edgar Reynaldo
Major Reynaldo
May 2007

If you're just using gcc, it's fairly straightforward.

gcc -Wall -Wextra -o proggie.exe -I $INCLUDE_DIR source1.cpp source2.cpp -L $LIB_DIR -l$ALLEGRO_LIBRARY

Just replace the $VAR with the appropriate directory or library.

-I sets the search directory for includes
-L sets the search directory for libs
-l links a library, where -lLIBNAME links to libLIBNAME.a .
-o sets the output filename
-Wall turns on most warnings
-Wextra turns on extra warnings

Additionally, you can specify -c to only compile objects and then link later, using your produced *.o files and libraries.

Static link needs a whole bunch of other libraries. I'm not sure what they are on OSX.

Number Six
Member #3,912
October 2003

Thanks for that - it got me off the ground. Unfortunately I seem to have a problem with one of the header files alplatf.h. Compiler says it is missing.

When I look where it is supposed to be there is a alplatf.h.cmake file - which suggests somehow it never got created.