Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Keyboard input while rendering?

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Keyboard input while rendering?
Emily Brace
Member #16,568
October 2016

Hello!

I recently started playing around with keyboard input with Allegro, but I can't get it to work like I want it to...
I want to use it in a menu, so want I want to do is listen for ALLEGRO_KEY_DOWN and when it's triggered, move one step down. No need to listen for ALLEGRO_KEY_UP.
I tried using al_get_next_event, but it won't register it at all and using al_wait_for_event just stops rendering until a key is pressed, which is not what I want.
Also tried following the keyboard tutorial on the wiki, but I can't get it to receive all keyboard inputs for some odd reason.
Not sure what I'm missing...

Thanks! :)

Meow :3

Mark Oates
Member #1,146
March 2001

Can you post some code? :)

--
Visit CLUBCATT.com for cat shirts, cat mugs, puzzles, art and more <-- coupon code ALLEGRO4LIFE at checkout and get $3 off any order of 3 or more items!

AllegroFlareAllegroFlare DocsAllegroFlare GitHub

Emily Brace
Member #16,568
October 2016

First tried from the example:
This draws everything fine, but keyboard inputs are ignored

#SelectExpand