Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Installation, Setup & Configuration » Compiler and Allegro

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Compiler and Allegro
Blick Fang
Member #16,565
September 2016

Hi All

I am a noob finding my programming legs (??). In my pursuit of a language that suits me, I found myself kinda partial to C++. With that said, I am kind of partial to DEV C++. However, I am not finding a clear install method of uniting Allegro and DEV C++. I guess I could abandon DEV C++ but have almost bonded with it ;D. I would very much like to experiment with Allegro. Can someone recommend a good solution?

Thanks

???

DanielH
Member #934
January 2001

If you don't mind Microsoft, you could try the Community version of MSVC. With the NuGet package manager, adding Allegro to a project is easy.

bamccaig
Member #7,536
July 2006

I believe it should be possible to use Dev C++ with Allegro. You may struggle a little bit with configuring it, but if you aim to use Dev C++ then it's a good idea to learn how to configure it. And if you aim to develop in C or C++ then you should certainly learn what is needed to interface with libraries.

Typically for C or C++ projects you have to do a couple of things: inform your compiler where to find header files (your own and third party libraries), inform your compiler where to find library files (.lib and .dll in Windows, .a and .so in *nix), and finally which library files to link into your program(s).

First of all you will need to install a compatible version of Allegro. Install here just means "copy a binary distribution to your hard drive". It's important that binaries (.lib or .dll's) are compatible with your toolchain (compiler and linker versions). For Windows, typically your toolchain is either MSVC if you're using Visual Studio, or a MinGW/MSYS port of GNU GCC.