Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Installation, Setup & Configuration » Running Allegro C++ code in Geany

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Running Allegro C++ code in Geany
amirteymuri
Member #16,507
August 2016

I am very new to Allegro5. I want to run a test C++/Allegro program from inside of the Geany texteditor. When i hit the compile/build button (F9) i get errors that complain about a bunch of undefined references to some functions like: al_install_system, al_create_display etc.
Has anyone experience about using allegro in geany? Can anyone help?

Edgar Reynaldo
Major Reynaldo
May 2007

If Geany supports your compiler, pass it the linker flags necessary to link the addons. Ie. if it supports MinGW (and that's what you're using) then you need to link to Allegro's library (and addons) by using -lNAME in the linker options, where the library you want to link to is named libNAME.a .

amirteymuri
Member #16,507
August 2016

I have my altered my compile command to this:
gcc -Wall -c -lallegro "%f"
(and this is the build command: gcc -Wall -o "%e" "%f", where "%f" resolves to file)

Now when i try to build this example from the tutorial:

#SelectExpand
1#include <stdio.h> 2#include <allegro5/allegro.h> 3 4int main(int argc, char **argv){ 5 6 ALLEGRO_DISPLAY *display = NULL; 7 8 if(!al_init()) { 9 fprintf(stderr, "failed to initialize allegro!\n"); 10 return -1; 11 } 12 13 display = al_create_display(640, 480); 14 if(!display) { 15 fprintf(stderr, "failed to create display!\n"); 16 return -1; 17 } 18 19 al_clear_to_color(al_map_rgb(0,0,0)); 20 21 al_flip_display(); 22 23 al_rest(10.0); 24 25 al_destroy_display(display); 26 27 return 0; 28}

i still get undefined references errors. I add -lallegro also to the build command (gcc -Wall -o -lallegro "%e" "%f") and i get:
gcc -Wall -o -lallegro "tst" "tst.c"
gcc: error: tst: no such file or directory

In both cases the source code compiles fine.
What am i doing wrong?