Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Installation, Setup & Configuration » No matter what I do I can't get allegro working.

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
No matter what I do I can't get allegro working.
XulTee
Member #16,086
September 2015

Ok so let me start at the beginning.

I am doing a honors project and I decided to use Allegro 5 to give my c++ program some fancy 2d graphics. So I say to myself, "This should be easy I'll just zip on over to the website and download it and it will be ready to go!"

What I didn't realize is that OMG it is a pain in the butt. So first I attempted to get allegro 5 working with xcode. After about 4 hours of gitcloning and brew installing and attempting to link libraries I have gotten nowhere. I admit I am new to using anything other than the standard c++ library.

I did find this 3 year old video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IZ2krJ8Ls2A and so I jumped on my PC with windows and began following the tutorial with my CodeBlocks. Except even after following it I run into problems, my bin folder not having any .lib files for example. So after a grand total 10 hours of wasted time I am nowhere. So my question to this lovely community is as follows.

Are there ANY tutorials for complete and utter beginners to get allegro 5 working on either xcode mac environment or CodeBlocks windows environment?

I have found so so so many wiki's and such but they all seem to assume so knowledge that I don't have. So I am very frustrated and seeking help.

Chris Katko
Member #1,881
January 2002

Did you start on Linux? because that's very simple. I just did it a few days ago on my laptop and it took ~5 minutes.

- Download Allegro 5.
- Extract tar file.
- Open directory in terminal
- type "cmake ."
- make
- sudo make install

Done, assuming you have all the dependencies already installed. If not, you basically look at the error when it stops and install that package until there are no missing packages.