Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Installation, Setup & Configuration » Using Allegro 5 with CodeBlocks

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Using Allegro 5 with CodeBlocks
LadyInRed7
Member #15,941
April 2015

Hey guys Im new to allegro and this forum.
I have downloaded CMake and the allegro sources,but dont know how to use it to make a dll of Allegro.
By the way,I just want to learn Allegro and know how to use it.Thats before using it to make one of my own games !!!;)

So here is the query,what library should I make, a shared one or a static library??
I want to learn first by the way,so I would be grateful if someone tells me about the right path.
And yes,I have never used CMake before,so I dont know how to use it.
Thnx for reading,
Yours friendly newbie,
LafyInRed7.

Edgar Reynaldo
Major Reynaldo
May 2007

You can compile Allegro directly with MinGW, the compiler that comes with CodeBlocks. You can create either a "MinGW Makefiles" makefile to use directly with mingw, or a "CodeBlocks - MinGW Makefiles" Code Blocks project that uses mingw indirectly.

Anyway, first steps are to install MinGW and CMake properly. The MinGW distribution is usually installed in c:\mingw, or in some sub directory of code blocks, but I prefer the former as CB can easily detect it when it is in c:\mingw.

Next, make sure the \mingw\bin directory is on your path, so that gcc and g++ are on your path. You can do this through environment variables in the system settings control panel or set it at runtime from a command line by typing in :

set path=c:\mingw\bin;%PATH%

After that install the latest CMake and make sure to check the option to add cmake to your path so you can run it from the command line as easily as mingw.

Then the general steps are to :

cd allegro_source_directory
mkdir build
cd build
cmake -G "MinGW Makefiles" -DSHARED=[On | Off] -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=[Release | RelWithDebInfo | Debug | Profiling] -DWANT_MONOLITH=[On | Off] ..