Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Off-Topic Ordeals » Jobs?

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Jobs?
Erin Maus
Member #7,537
July 2006

Hey everyone,

I've been trying to get a job for about a month. However, I have no professional experience (be it in any job [and being 22, it's rather bizarre I guess?]). Locally, I've tried a bunch of different fields, from grocery stores to customer service, but it's not been any success. I guess having a bunch of computer skills and not much else is rather... disconcerting. Noting that I read Shakespeare (and tons of other classics but that doesn't matter) for fun isn't relevant nor useful, and would probably scare more of them off, haha (among other useless skills of mine).

Not to get too personal, but I've been taking care of my mom, who recently passed. With her passing, our stable income is now $0. Taking care of her is the major reason I've unable to get a job since high school (and also the reason I've been unable to attend college in the mean time). I guess valuing the comfort of a sick family member over oneself is not the wisest choice in this day and age.

What I'm looking for is advice. I would prefer a job where I could apply the skills I have, but in the town I live in, that's not an option (Fayetteville, NC). I've looked at freelancing in the mean time but I don't know much about it and it seems like you need contacts unless you try and compete on those freelance websites (which I don't feel like I trust, they rub me wrong, I guess).