Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Linking static libraries: undefined reference

Credits go to Cassio Renan and Edgar Reynaldo for helping out!
This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Linking static libraries: undefined reference
Lil.sen
Member #15,650
June 2014

Hello Allegro forums :) I'm a new programmer, and after getting over a few bumps on the road I finished my first small game. The next step is for me to try to make it playable on machines that do not have Allegro installed (I just want to send it to a friend, nothing too professional :P) What I did was to create the main game folder, one subdirectory /lib with the libraries I'm using, and /src with the source files and the Makefile. The first part of Makefile itself is looking something like:

#SelectExpand
1OBJ = file1.o file2.o file3.o file4.o 2LIBS_PATH = -L../lib 3LIBS = -lallegro-static -lallegro_font-static -lallegro_ttf-static -lallegro_image-static -lallegro_dialog-static -lallegro_primitives-static 4 5Game: $(OBJ) 6 g++ -o Game $(LIBS_PATH) $(LIBS) $(OBJ) 7 8-include dependencies

When entering "make", the terminal gives me an undefined reference for every single Allegro function in all the 4 files. What I attempted before writing this thread and bother you people was the following:

1) Made sure the libraries are all in /libs (they are)
2) redownloaded Allegro and rebuilt it again making sure "SHARED" was "OFF"
3) double-checked the order I'm loading the libraries, I might be getting this wrong but it's the same order my game loads them in so that shouldn't be an issue?

As far as I can tell, it shouldn't be a problem within the code itself as the game loads and plays properly when trying to compile it manually and with the default library location.

Thank you! I'm sure it's something silly that I'm missing :-/

Cassio Renan
Member #14,189
April 2012