Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Installation, Setup & Configuration » Installation as library for another engine?

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Installation as library for another engine?
neyirK
Member #15,578
April 2014

Hi all

I'm a computer engineering student with almost no knowledge in game programming whatsoever... ???
But, our class was assigned a project to create a game using allegro or something similar that's due in less than a month. Yes, you read right, we have to create a game in 3 weeks, with no knowledge (except for the basic C++ we learnt in class this semester) and it can't be simple, according to our lecturer. Basically, flappy bird and frogger are out of the question.

So, while researching I stumbled upon Angel2D which is a game engine rather than a game library like Allegro. I tried using it but had trouble since there aren't many tutorials and the forum is sort of dead. Allegro seems easy to understand however I can't seem to get Box2D working properly (another prerequisite). Angel2D comes with Box2D and some other useful gadgets but I don't have enough time to understand all of it.

So my question is; How do I incorporate Allegro into Angel2D? I tried using the basic tutorial of inserting the required fields under properties (linker, and C/C++) but Visual Studio throws LNK2019 errors everywhere :-/. Separately, Angel and Allegro work fine, but not together.

Alternatively, if someone can help me find my problem with Allegro and Box2D that would also be greatly appreciated :)

Sorry for the long-winded explanation :-X

Thanks in advance to all that help :)

Mark Oates
Member #1,146
March 2001

Do you need to use Angel2D? or can you use just Allegro+Box2D?

To me, incorporating Allegro and Box2D without any experience in game programming, and making a "complex" game in 3 weeks seems a bit unreasonable - but possible.