Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » [A5] lighting

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
[A5] lighting
bleepBlop
Member #14,822
January 2013

I am trying to create the ability to have lighting in my games. I first wanted to have ones which would cast a certain shadow on objects, or just not to execute if entering the pixels of an object, but atm I'd be happy with even a simple light and no other rules.

I tried making a transparent sphere, but the edges would need to be blurred and I don't know how to do it.
I tried to add a dark rectangle over the background and then put a transparent yellowish circle, but again, no blur, I thought maybe I could use the circle to just cut darkened rectangle, however I didn t know how to do it.
I tried to take an image premade in photoshop using Gaussian blur but in allegro it just showed like a square, I guess filters don't pass well in allegro.

Basically, I'm studying java for a year now, made a simple snake-like game in c++/allegro a year ago and now I am trying to do something more complicated with this.
Is there any tutorial or someone showing how he/she achieves this with allegro 5? I understand I could somehow attain this with blenders however I do not understand much from the documentation, could you guys maybe know of some more extensive help?

I don't know how the community here is relating to newbies but please, if you have nothing constructive to add, just don't bother, I already feel bad about not figuring this out by myself.

Thank you for reading this

Kris Asick
Member #1,424
July 2001

One of the key things of note with Allegro 5, and probably one of the reasons why you're running into trouble, is that A5 originally did not support multiplication blending on its own, which is somewhat necessary to make a good lightning system for a 2D game, so you have three options: