Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Delayed Keyboard Input in Allegro 5.0.8

Credits go to Edgar Reynaldo and Thomas Fjellstrom for helping out!
This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Delayed Keyboard Input in Allegro 5.0.8
ph03nix
Member #15,028
April 2013

I'm porting a game to C++ using Allegro 5.0.8, and I noticed that the keyboard input is a bit delayed. It is not consistently delayed, but rather it occasionally delays input for maybe around 10 ms or so (subtle but noticeable).

I'm using al_get_keyboard_state once per iteration to get the key info, and then using al_key_down for each key that my game needs. I can't use events for the keys since they seem to only be able to read one press and release per iteration, meaning if two keys are released at the same time it will assume one was never released.

I'm new to Allegro, but I've looked through the online manual extensively before coming here and couldn't find any alternatives to capturing key presses. Is this a known problem with allegro, or is there a proper way to capture key presses that I'm not aware of?

Thomas Fjellstrom
Member #476
June 2000

You can actually read more than one key press/release per iteration. What you should be doing is handling/draining ALL events in the queue each time through your loop.

There is no other way to do it properly. Otherwise your queue gets backed up and you start getting WAY behind.

check the wiki's tutorials.

--
Thomas Fjellstrom - [website] - [email] - [Allegro Wiki] - [Allegro TODO]
"If you can't think of a better solution, don't try to make a better solution." -- weapon_S
"The less evidence we have for what we believe is certain, the more violently we defend beliefs against those who don't agree" -- https://twitter.com/neiltyson/status/592870205409353730

Edgar Reynaldo
Major Reynaldo
May 2007

ph03nix
Member #15,028
April 2013