Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Type casting performance (void* -> struct*)

Credits go to Audric, Oscar Giner, and SiegeLord for helping out!
This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Type casting performance (void* -> struct*)
AMCerasoli
Member #11,955
May 2010

Guys!

I'm not experienced in this stuff, and I have to admit that I'm probably getting in a very obscure path with my current game... The thing is now I'm using vectors of void pointers because all this polymorphism and inheritance stuff is really annoying.

So I'm trying new stuff to get experience and such. The thing is I'll need to cast 60 times per second void pointers to an struct/class pointer.

TERRAIN_COMP *tr = (TERRAIN_COMP*) it2->second;

I was wondering if I'm killing my game with this. Because this gives me a lot of freedom and I would sacrifice some performance if it's not too much.

But I don't have the experience to really know if this is a good idea. And I don't want to base my game in something that is not going to work.

So, if there is someone who knows if this actually affects performance please tell me. Thanks.

SiegeLord
Member #7,827
October 2006

Unless you overload that operator (if that's even possible in C++) then it has no or negligible performance penalty. The only way I can think of it mattering is if the compiler can do some weird optimization that requires the knowledge of the type... but that sort of thing that's not available in your design anyway, cast or no cast.

"For in much wisdom is much grief: and he that increases knowledge increases sorrow."-Ecclesiastes 1:18
[SiegeLord's Abode][Codes]:[DAllegro5]:[RustAllegro]

Audric
Member #907
January 2001

This kind of cast doesn't cause any additional instruction to be performed at run time. A pointer is not a C++ object, it's just a 4-byte (or 8-byte) piece of memory that contains a memory address.