Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Game Design & Concepts » Help me pick a GUI please.

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Help me pick a GUI please.
ryancoboy
Member #14,468
July 2012

Hello everyone. This is my fist post here, so hopefully I'm posting in the right section and saying the right things. If not, I apologize in advanced.

little bit of background information on me:
been using C++ for about 5 years.
been using Allegro5 for about 6 months (I love it so far).

I made a simple tower defense game with allegro to build up my skills with allegro.

But my main project is a RPG game that I've been working on for ~4 years. I just recently finished a text version of the game. Now I want to make it a graphical game(2d).

As I've started working on some things I have come to realize that it would be very helpful to have some sort of GUI lib. In terms of features all I really need are: Textboxes (just to get user input), buttons, and scroll/slider bars.

FYI I use Windows 7, and Visual C++ 2010 (I know a lot of people hate it and I know why, but it's, for the most part, simple for me to use and understand).

The biggest problem I've been having with trying different GUI's is installing them. I have close to zero experience installing/adding new libs.

With all that in mind hopefully you guys can give me some ideas of GUI's to use and perhaps instructions on how to install them.

Thanks for any and all help,
-Ryan

-Ryan
----------------------------------------------------
If I'm asking, it's because I failed for over 2 hours trying to find the answer on Google / trying to fix it myself.

jmasterx
Member #11,410
October 2009

There's my gui library Agui. The goal of my library was ease of use, flexibility, and functionality. As a result it has a ton of well documented functions.

My TextField can have character limits, passwords, numbers only, text selection with mouse and keyboard, and much more.