Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Problem with Transparency Mask

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Problem with Transparency Mask
crowbar
Member #14,200
April 2012

Hello,

I am new to Allegro and I am trying to make a "flashlight"-like effect. Where I put a 50% transparent black png over my background image, then I want to be able to shine multiple "flashlights" over the image and where ever a "flashlight" is, the black png is erased at that location of that frame. I tried using
al_convert_mask_to_alpha(shade, al_map_rgb(255,0,255));
but it was FAR too slow! because I had to update the location of the flash lights every frame and I was constantly recreating the "shade" bitmap.

The attachment (example.jpg) is an example of what I want, just imagine the circles of light moving in real time.

Any suggestions?

Thanks!

Crowbar

Max Savenkov
Member #4,613
May 2004

You'll have to do this:

1) Create a screen-sized bitmap (once)
2) Paint it transparent black (0,0,0,128)
3) Draw a few filled circles on it with (255,255,255,255), with blending mode set to ALLEGRO_DEST_MINUS_SRC , ALLEGRO_ONE , ALLEGRO_ONE
4) Restore old blending mode
4) Draw your image
5) Draw your bitmap over it

#SelectExpand
1ALLEGRO_BITMAP *old = al_get_target_bitmap(); 2al_set_target_bitmap( mask ); 3al_clear_to_color( al_map_rgba( 0,0,0,128 ) ); 4int a,b,c; 5al_get_blender( &a, &b, &c ); 6al_set_blender(ALLEGRO_DEST_MINUS_SRC , ALLEGRO_ONE , ALLEGRO_ONE); 7// For N spotlights: 8al_draw_filled_circle( x1, y1, radius1, al_map_rgba( 255,255,255,255 ) ); 9... 10al_draw_filled_circle( xN, yN, radiusN, al_map_rgba( 255,255,255,255 ) ); 11al_set_blender(a,b,c); 12al_set_target_bitmap( old ); 13// Draw your scene 14// ... 15al_draw_bitmap( mask, 0, 0, 0 );