Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » C++ 2D collision detection

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
C++ 2D collision detection
cableguy
Member #14,197
April 2012

Hello everyone,

For starters I'll introduce myself. I'm a 47YO PC Technician and I recently picked up a few C++ books and started making 2D games as a hobby. I'm currently trying to make my 1st physics based game, but it has been over 20 years since I practiced my maths and physics "skills" and needless to say I'm quite rusty and I could use some help.

I'm currently working on a 2D vehicle sidescroller that's quite similar to the game "Happy Wheels". So far I've implemented gravity, acceleration, friction, etc. and a basic collision detection for non-diagonal rectangular objects.

Problem I'm having is figuring out how to implement collision detection for diagonal objects (slopes), I want the vehicle to efficiently "climb" the slope and modify its rotation accordingly. Any tips on how I could do that would be greatly appreciated!

David Sopala
Member #5,056
September 2004

Slopes are just triangles in disguise. Use triangle - rectangle collision. I am assuming a side scroll since I have no idea what happy wheels looks like. Use right triangles and the you can find that hypotenuse take the point on the line of the hypotenuse nearest the center of the rectangle(?vehicle?) and correct against that.

As for the rotation right triangle properties a1 + a2 + a3 = 180 degrees. You know the height and the width of said triangle.

Keep in mind allegro uses 256 degree rotation for it's functions(not sure on a5 though).

I am writing this off the top of my head, it should be semi-correct.

a2     hyp = sqrt(w^2 + h^2);
   /|     sin(a1) = h / hyp;    rotation = (h / hyp * 23040) / 360;  //this will be ready to use 90*256 = 23040.
  / |     sin(a2) = w / hyp;
 /  |  h  
/___|     
a1        
  w

useful links: