Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Installation, Setup & Configuration » Setting up Allegro 5 with Code::Blocks, MinGW

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Setting up Allegro 5 with Code::Blocks, MinGW
chessguy
Member #14,033
February 2012

Hello all. I have recently learned some C++ (most of it), and now I want to practice. However, I want to practice making games as well, and using graphics, not to mention actually being able to use keyboard input. So far, I have made several things... but text is limited, I cannot use the keyboard, and the ebst visuals I could get on the console were with a "guess that shape!" game, featuring colored shapes. Long story, it was for practice...

Anyway, I am using Code::Blocks and MinGW. I am not really certain how to set up allegro, though. This is my first time setting up a library. I want to link to it statically. Currently, I was trying to find the article you have for this on the wiki with allegro 5. I found all the files in the lib folde,r and put them in order, except instead of 5.0.4 as in the pictures it is 5.0.5. Anyway, after this, it said something about lib folders in MinGW. Some were there, some weren't.

Also, it also goes into global compiler and debubber settings > search directories. Then, compiler tab. I can find the allegro 5 (the folder name is a bit long, something about MinGw4.5.2 or something in there), and the include folder. However, it does not ask if it is a relative path, although in the picture it suggests it did, so I may have done something wrong.

Any ideas how to fix these issues and get it working?

Also - with what I have so far, I #included <iostream>. It said ti could not find iostream, which is odd. I think it was something I did in the build options (under project tab) but I am not sure. Iostream still includes fine in other projects.

Thanks.

Trent Gamblin
Member #261
April 2000