Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Some assistance with event queues please?

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
 1   2 
Some assistance with event queues please?
grammerangel
Member #13,001
July 2011

I'm new to this event system, and nobody around me knows what I'm talking about. I'm about two weeks into Allegro, and this has been bugging me.

Here's a snatch of code I'm working on, everything is initialized;

#SelectExpand
1 2void input (ALLEGRO_DISPLAY *display, ALLEGRO_EVENT_QUEUE *eventqueue) 3{ 4 5 ALLEGRO_EVENT ev; 6 ALLEGRO_TIMEOUT timeout; 7 al_init_timeout(&timeout, .06); 8 bool getevent = al_peek_next_event (eventqueue, &ev); 9 10 while (1) 11 { 12 cout << "Enter '1' to exit or '2' to draw a line." << endl; 13 cin >> number; 14 if (number==1) 15 { 16 al_destroy_display(display); 17 18 } 19 if (number==2) 20 { 21 al_draw_line(250,0,250,500, al_map_rgb(255,0,0), 10); 22 al_flip_display(); 23 24 } 25 26 27 if (getevent==true && ev.type == ALLEGRO_EVENT_DISPLAY_CLOSE) 28 { 29 cout << "Event" << endl; 30 al_destroy_display(display); 31 break; 32 33 } 34 35 } 36}

Suppose I press the X button before I put in a number. I'm trying to get the third if, the getevent line, to understand that there is an event in the queue and act accordingly. This code serves no actual purpose, but I want to understand exactly how queues store data. I thought the queue would store the input, and then getevent would recognize that there's something in it and save the event in ev, which the next piece would pick up. But in practice, the line doesn't return true.

If somebody could explain this, rather than correct this, I'd appreciate it.

Trent Gamblin
Member #261
April 2000

You should have a single "message pump" loop something like this:

#SelectExpand