Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » how to remove background from bitmap ?

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
how to remove background from bitmap ?
Chaos Maker
Member #12,260
September 2010

im trying to make an map editor, but my sprites are with background '~'
look
{"name":"AllegroLol.png","src":"\/\/djungxnpq2nug.cloudfront.net\/image\/cache\/1\/4\/14aa8b3b9426145a87772519074ea52e.png","w":817,"h":637,"tn":"\/\/djungxnpq2nug.cloudfront.net\/image\/cache\/1\/4\/14aa8b3b9426145a87772519074ea52e"}AllegroLol.png
AllegroLol2.png
{"name":"AllegroLOLLOLOLOL.png","src":"\/\/djungxnpq2nug.cloudfront.net\/image\/cache\/7\/e\/7eb5fcfd88642d8c620f3e869c447012.png","w":263,"h":98,"tn":"\/\/djungxnpq2nug.cloudfront.net\/image\/cache\/7\/e\/7eb5fcfd88642d8c620f3e869c447012"}AllegroLOLLOLOLOL.png
HOW TO REMOVE THE TROLL BACKGROUND ?

jhetfield21
Member #12,379
November 2010

I'm a newbie as far as this library is concerned but I'm gonna go on a limb here.If you are blitting the cursor on the frame buffer then it's not difficult.

It puzzled me too.You have to make the background of the cursor icon a shade of pink(R:255,G:0,B:255) so that it is recognized by certain blit functions as a masked color,a kind of transparent.

If you are using allegro 4.2 then after painting the white background of the cursor pink in the RGB mentioned then load it and use maskedblit().It will just paint the cursor without the background.If you are using allegro5 then you need to load it to an ALLEGRO_BITMAP* and then use the al_convert_mask_to_alpha(cursoricon,al_map_rgb(255,0,255)) or sth like that to turn the pink into a transparent color and convert the whole bitmap once and for all.Then just al_draw_bitmap as you did before.