Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » linux simple prg file paths error #11

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
linux simple prg file paths error #11
305Linux
Member #12,144
July 2010

In windows(Basically saying I am new to Linux) the line was:

Red = load_bitmap("images/red.bmp", NULL);

In Linux with the newest version of Allegro with all files in "/root/hworld/hworld/bin/Released/images", "/root/hworld/hworld/bin/Released/sounds" with images and sounds in their respected folders and the program in the Released folder. I get a

Quote:

Shutting down Allegro due to signal #11

gdb gave these results:

Quote:

Starting program: /root/hworld/hworld/bin/Debug/hworld
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
[New Thread 0xb7b826c0 (LWP 25615)]
[New Thread 0xb7a69b90 (LWP 25616)]
[New Thread 0xb7268b90 (LWP 25617)]

Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
[Switching to Thread 0xb7b826c0 (LWP 25615)]
0xb7fda99b in draw_sprite () from /usr/lib/liballeg.so.4.2
(gdb) bt
#0 0xb7fda99b in draw_sprite () from /usr/lib/liballeg.so.4.2
#1 0x00000000 in ?? ()

I am also unable to do just a simple barebones audio/bitmap load, which makes me believe that my path location setup is incorrect.

Thanks a lot for any and all help that is given. This has been bothering me and google has failed me.

Arthur Kalliokoski
Second in Command
February 2005

305Linux said:

"/root/hworld/hworld/bin/Released/images"

Wouldn't it have to be Released/images/red.bmp?

And it's very unwise to run stuff as root.

[EDIT]

Oh, wait, the binary is in Released? I don't do that crappy Release/Debug MS setup thing.

They all watch too much MSNBC... they get ideas.

305Linux
Member #12,144
July 2010

You are correct the appropriate files are located in the designated folders. red.bmp would be located "/root/hworld/hworld/bin/Released/images" or the Debug folder instead of the Released folder for the debugging.

Billybob