Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Indentation (4 spaces vs 8 spaces)

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Indentation (4 spaces vs 8 spaces)
decepto
Member #7,102
April 2006

A couple questions:

1. Do you use hard tabs or soft spaces for indentation - and why?
2. How many spaces do you indent in? 4, 8 or (gasp!) 2?

Personally, I use soft spaces with an indent of 4 for every programming language. Trying to use 8 space indentation is just too hard when I try to keep my lines less than 80 characters.

--------------------------------------------------
Boom!

Sol Blast
Member #9,655
April 2008

I prefer the uniformity you get with the tab key (so in other words 4 in MVS6).

ITAmember
Member #10,095
August 2008

I use soft indentation and 4 spaces because I'm a big python programmer and that is the python standard. But that's just me.

Jeff Bernard
Member #6,698
December 2005

I typically use hard tabs. But if I ever use soft spacing (such as when formatting code for a forum), I use 3 spaces.

--
I thought I was wrong once, but I was mistaken.

CosmicR
Member #6,889
February 2006

I use whatever the source code formatter does in code::blocks. I think it's the K & R standard.
Previously before I had the formatter I used spaces, often only 2 because sometimes lines got too long when I used descriptive variable names.

OnlineCop
Member #7,919
October 2006

I use tabs to indent, and spaces to align.

My IDE usually have the tab/indentation level set to 3, since it's not as space-wasting as 4, and easier to read than 2.

Although people who use tabs to indent also use tabs to align, I think it's a pain to visually match everything in their sources by either changing my IDE's tab/indentation level to match theirs or (in the extreme case) reformat their code to make everything align correctly.

--|--|std::cout << "Text that is so long that it needs to break across lines "