Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Texture mapping a trapezoid

Credits go to Bob and Tobias Dammers for helping out!
This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Texture mapping a trapezoid
HoHo
Member #4,534
April 2004

I've been struggling with it for a few hours today. I have very little OpenGL experience and I wouldn't be surprised to know there is something really basic I'm missing.

Problem is simple:
I have to map a rectangular texture onto a trapezoid without producing ugly artifacts.

For the reference, here are the original quad, trapezoid I get and trapezoid-like thing I would like to get:
http://www.allegro.cc/files/attachment/592463
Notice how the straight lines are no longer straight but "broken":
http://www.allegro.cc/files/attachment/592464
Just imagine that only the quad is in perspective and not the window, I'm no expert in Gimp :P
http://www.allegro.cc/files/attachment/592465

Is something like this at all possible with two triangles? If not then how can I achieve such look.

In the end the program will look 2D top-down. Performance isn't probably a problem but ease of implementation would be a major plus :)

Code to draw the trapezoid is this. To get a quad just replace 0.2 with 1.0:

1 const float coords[4][3]= {
2 {-1.0f, -0.2f, 0.0f},
3 {-1.0f, 0.2f, 0.0f},
4 {1.0f, 1.f, 0.0f},
5 {1.0f, -1.0f, 0.0f},
6 };
7 const float texcoords[4][2]={
8 {0.0f,0.0f},
9 {0.0f,1.0f},
10 {1.0f,1.0f},
11 {1.0f,0.0f},
12 };
13 glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, textures[0]);
14 glBegin(GL_QUADS);
15 for (int i=0;i<4;i++){
16 glTexCoord2fv(texcoords<i>);
17 glVertex3fv(coords<i>);
18 }
19 glEnd();

Initialization code:

glEnable(GL_DEPTH_TEST);
    glEnable(GL_TEXTURE_2D);
    glViewport((width - side) / 2, (height - side) / 2, side, side);

glMatrixMode(GL_PROJECTION);
    glLoadIdentity();
    glOrtho(-1.5, +1.5, +1.5, -1.5, 4.0, 15.0);
    glMatrixMode(GL_MODELVIEW);