Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » MSVC make

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
MSVC make
Ceagon Xylas
Member #5,495
February 2005

I feel silly, but here goes anyway. I'm new to MSVC, and I know virtually nothing about makefiles, so I'm pretty lost here. I downloaded the CGUI lib and want to of course compile it for MSVC. (I succeeded in doing so for Mingw)

So here's what my command line look like: (I don't have the executable 'utod', so I specify --quick)
..\CGUI> fix msvc --quick Configuring CGUI for Windows/MSVC... Done! ..\CGUI> nmake Microsoft (R) Program Maintenance Utility Version 8.00.50727.42 Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved. misc/makefile.all(150) : fatal error U1034: syntax error : separator missing Stop.

This seems like a really easy problem to fix, but seeing as I have no clue how to script a makefile, I'm not quite sure what to do.

ixilom
Member #7,167
April 2006

I haven't used CGUI at all, but could it be that you need to build the library with mingw's make rather than nmake (microsoft) ?
This is the case when you build Allegro for MSVC anyways.

Ceagon Xylas
Member #5,495
February 2005

..\CGUI> mingw32-make Your MSVCDIR or MSDEVDIR environment variable is not set! ..\CGUI> set MSVCDIR="C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\VC" ..\CGUI> mingw32-make misc/makefile.vc:328: *** multiple target patterns. Stop.

[edit]
Possibly because there are spaces in MSVCDIR?

ixilom
Member #7,167
April 2006

Hmm, not sure if that error occurs because of the spaces in the MSVCDIR enviroment variable. But you should/must replace it with 8.3 names, like

set MSVCDIR=C:\Progra~1\Micros~1\VC

Notice the number 1 might actually be 2 or 3, depending on how many directories that start with "Microsoft" for example.
It is quite easy to check, open a dos-prompt and type "dir /x" in c:\program files\ and it will reveal which Micros~X belongs to what directory.