Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Game running much smoother WITHOUT timer

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Game running much smoother WITHOUT timer
jeronimo
Member #7,645
August 2006

Hey there,
I'm new to Allegro and game programming in general.
After doing a tutorial (allegro Vivace), I made a little Pong game for practice.
I implemented a regular timer system (as suggested by the FAQ), that executes the game logic several times until the timer/gamecycle counters are equal, and then updates the graphics.

However, graphics aren't very smooth, and they appear MUCH smoother when I comment out all the timer stuff. I tried double buffering, page flipping and triple buffering, same story for all techniques.

I think the main problem is that, one time, the graphics update shows, say, 5 steps of ball movement, and the other time, it shows just 3 steps. This makes the movement quite jerky. Whereas without timer, every frame update is just one step of game logic, and although there are somme missed frames, I found it impossible to detect them at sight (only noticed this by comparing counters).

So, what do you think, is it a Very Bad Thing not to use a timer, and adjust game speed based on the refresh rate of the user (obtainable by get_refresh_rate())?
Cause that seems to give very smooth performance, and still the same speed on all computers if get_refresh_rate is reported correctly.

George Foot
Member #669
September 2000