Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » A Question About MIDIs

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
A Question About MIDIs
Mr. Big
Member #6,196
September 2005

Is there a way to get the value of the note the MIDI player is currently playing?

miran
Member #2,407
June 2002

I have no experience with this, I'm just quoting the manual:

extern void (*midi_msg_callback)(int msg, int byte1, int byte2);
extern void (*midi_meta_callback)(int type, const unsigned char *data, int length);
extern void (*midi_sysex_callback)(const unsigned char *data, int length);

So yes, it is possible. You just write a midi_msg_callback and in it look out for note on messages. I've no idea what the different message constants are though, or what the meaning of byte1 and byte2 is. Probably looking at the Allegro source code would help... :-/

--
sig used to be here

Mark Oates
Member #1,146
March 2001

those functions will work only if you catch the MIDI message as it's being sent (via allegro functions or any other source).

what is it that you are trying to do?

--
Visit CLUBCATT.com for cat shirts, cat mugs, puzzles, art and more <-- coupon code ALLEGRO4LIFE at checkout and get $3 off any order of 3 or more items!

AllegroFlareAllegroFlare DocsAllegroFlare GitHub

Mr. Big
Member #6,196
September 2005

I've finally figured out inverse kinematics, so I thought making a simulation of hands playing a piano could be quite amusing.
I need to know which notes the MIDI player is playing, so I could find the corresponding keys on the virtual piano (a 3D model of one) and make the fingers "press" them.
I don't really understand how to use the functions Miran posted to achieve the goal.
Could anyone please explain?

Thanks in advance,
Mr. Big

Steve++
Member #1,816
January 2002