Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Off-Topic Ordeals » Talk about your typical day at work

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
 1   2   3   4 
Talk about your typical day at work
Onewing
Member #6,152
August 2005

What could be more interesting than your day at work? Or perhaps, less interesting...

Talk about your typical day at work. What duties and responsibilities do you have? Do you enjoy it? What happened today? Do you even have a job? What are your future plans.

No need to list how much you make. This is not some kind of "I'm better than you" war (or I will kill it). Just curious as to what everybody's doing. Why? Well, I guess just to post_count++. :)

My typical day consists of showing up between 8:00am and 10:00am. They don't seem to mind, I've never been warned about it or anything. Sometimes I come in even later. If it's really late (after noon), I usually call and they're cool with it.

I'm just an IT intern, so I don't do anything major. I've got a nice little office that I share with one of the other 2 programmers in the company. I usually keep one internet window open at all times, frequently checking forums, unless a big project is underway (which is kind of rare). My duties include helping out users with their multitude of problems, fixing computers, specific problems that need to be addressed with our programs and whatever else might come our way. I do a fair amount of SQL and informix programming, but lately I've been on another project. We are planning to go to electronic reporting and I'm the main man on the project. I just finished today gathering the entire distribution (which is a whole lot) and I'm going to start evaluating the actual usage of our current reports.

I typically finish up the day around 6 or 7pm. I help out with the night operator duties since the position was recently terminated. It's a monday to friday job, so I get weekends off.