Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Game Design & Concepts » How do you make music?

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
 1   2 
How do you make music?
Kauhiz
Member #4,798
July 2004

I know we have a lot of great musicians here at Allegro.cc, and I'd like to know what you guys do when you write/compose a song. I don't know much about music, and I can't play any instrument, but I'd like to try to make some music for my project. So I'd like to know what kind of programs you use. Like I said, I can't play any instrument, so I'd be doing the whole process on my computer. So I'm looking for any free programs that I can use to make a song from scratch. What do you use?

---
It's Ridge Racer! RIIIIIDGE RAAAAACER!

Neil Walker
Member #210
April 2000

I'm no musician but anyone can create something half decent with Rebirth (Propeller head), and it's so much fun at the same time :)

It's not free, but you get 15 minutes, which is ample time to knock out a tune.

Neil.

Neil.
MAME Cabinet Blog / AXL LIBRARY (a games framework) / AXL Documentation and Tutorial

wii:0356-1384-6687-2022, kart:3308-4806-6002. XBOX:chucklepie

Bruce Perry
Member #270
April 2000

I play the piano and compose music, so I may be able to advise.

The first step is to be able to tell what makes good music and what makes bad music. Supposedly we can all do that, although the UK Pop Charts clearly suggest otherwise. ::)

The second step is to be able to understand what makes good music. It comes naturally to me now, but I have one or two recordings of myself playing the piano at the age of 7, and they sound horrible! I knew something, but not enough. I must have gained my understanding of music gradually over time, but I was too young to really be aware of the process.