Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Types

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
 1   2   3 
Types
Kauhiz
Member #4,798
July 2004

This is something I never learned, when I studied C, so be patient with me. I'd like to make a type called ENEMY to create an enemy easily. Now I know I should make the type like this:

typedef struct ENEMY{
     int x,y;
     int state;
}

I could then create a enemy by ENEMY *enemy1; But how do I read and change the variables? Also, please correct me, if I said something stupid...

---
It's Ridge Racer! RIIIIIDGE RAAAAACER!

Steve Terry
Member #1,989
March 2002

Fist off you only create a pointer.. you need to malloc an enemy for that.

enemey1 = malloc(sizeof(struct ENEMY));

enemy1->x = 10;
enemy1->y = SCREEN_H >> 1;
enemy1->state = ENEMY_ALIVE;

Hrvoje Ban
Member #4,537
April 2004

Or you can make function to do it:

ENEMY *create_enemy(int new_x, int new_y, int new_state)
{
  ENEMY *tmp = malloc(sizeof(struct ENEMY));
  tmp->x = new_x;
  tmp->y = new_y;
  tmp->state = new_state;

return tmp;
}

ENEMY *enemy1 = create_enemy(100, 100, ENEMY_ALIVE);

Oscar Giner
Member #2,207
April 2002

The syntax for the ENEMY struct is not correct. It should be:

typedef struct ENEMY{
     int x,y;
     int state;
} ENEMY;

You can create enemies by two ways:

statically:

{
    ENEMY enemy1;

enemy1.x = 0;
    enemy1.x = 560;
    enemy1.state = 0;
}
// enemy1 does not longer exist, after the closing }

or

dinamically:

{
    ENEMY *enemy1;

enemy1 = (ENEMY *)malloc(sizeof(ENEMY));

enemy1->x = 0;  // equivalent to (*enemy).x = 0
    enemy1->x = 560;
    enemy1->state = 0;

free enemy;  // destroys the enemy1 data.
}
// if you don't call free enemy1 is still in memory and can be accesed by anyone who knows its memory address (pointer).

ReyBrujo
January 2001

You create a new type with the keyword typedef. You declare a new variable of some time on the fly with only the keyword struct: