Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » rgb->yuv (yv12) optimization...

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
 1   2 
rgb->yuv (yv12) optimization...
Thomas Fjellstrom
Member #476
June 2000

been playing with some code to convert a BITMAP to yuv data (specifically yv12)...

Now, it works, but is limited. It assumes 32bpp, and is very slow. :(

I have very little experience with the kinds of optimizations this code will need, aka: asm, mmx, sse...

If someone would be kind enough to help me optimize the crap out of this code, weather it be ideas, links to exhaustive asm+mmx+sse docs, or some replacement code ;) I'd be much obliged. :D

1int bitmap2xvimage(BITMAP *src, XvImage *image)
2{
3 convertToYUV(src->dat, image->data, src->w, src->h) ? 1 : 0;
4}
6double getY( unsigned char R, unsigned char G, unsigned char B ) {
7 return( R * 0.299 + G * 0.587 + B * 0.114 );
8}
10double getU( unsigned char R, unsigned char G, unsigned char B ) {
11 return( R * -0.168736 + G * -0.331264 + B * 0.500 + 128 );
12}
14double getV( unsigned char R, unsigned char G, unsigned char B ) {
15 return( R * 0.500 + G * -0.418688 + B * -0.081312 + 128 );
16}
18unsigned char* convertToYUV( unsigned char* rgbbuffer, unsigned char* yuv_buffer, int width, int height ) {
19 unsigned int framesize;
20 unsigned char *rgba1, *yuv1;
21 unsigned char *rgba2, *yuv2;
22 unsigned char *rgba3, *yuv3;
23 unsigned char *rgba4, *yuv4;
24 unsigned char r1, r2, r3, r4, g1, g2, g3, g4, b1, b2, b3, b4;
25 unsigned char* y_plane;
26 unsigned char* u_plane;
27 unsigned char* v_plane;
28 int row = 0, col = 0;
29 int plane_size;
31 /* 1 y-plane + 1/4 u-plane + 1/4 v-plane */
32 framesize = (unsigned int) ( width * height * 1.5 );
34 plane_size = width * height;
36 y_plane = yuv_buffer;
37 u_plane = yuv_buffer + plane_size;
38 v_plane = u_plane + plane_size/4;
40 for (row=0; row < height/2; row++) {